Seventh-day Adventists accept the Bible as their only creed and hold certain fundamental beliefs to be the teaching of the Holy Scriptures. These beliefs, as set forth here, constitute the church’s current understanding and expression of the teaching of Scripture. The following are the 28 fundamental beliefs of the Seventh-day Adventist Church.


  1. The Holy Scriptures:

    The Holy Scriptures, Old and New Testaments, are the written Word of God, given by divine inspiration through holy men of God who spoke and wrote as they were moved by the Holy Spirit. In this Word, God has committed to man the knowledge necessary for salvation. The Holy Scriptures are the infallible revelation of His will. They are the standard of character, the test of experience, the authoritative revealer of doctrines, and the trustworthy record of God's acts in history.


    • Psalms 119:105
    • Proverbs 30:5, 6
    • Isaiah 8:20
    • John 17:17
    • 1 Thessalonians 2:13
    • 2 Timothy 3:16, 17
    • Hebrews 4:12
    • 2 Peter 1:20, 21


  1. The Holy Scriptures 
  2. The Trinity 
  3. The Father 
  4. The Son 
  5. The Holy Spirit 
  6. Creation 
  7. The Nature of Man 
  8. The Great Controversy 
  9. The Life, Death, and Resurrection of Christ 
  10. The Experience of Salvation 
  11. Growing in Christ 
  12. The Church 
  13. The Remnant and Its Mission 
  14. Unity in the Body of Christ 
  15. Baptism 
  16. The Lord's Supper 
  17. Spiritual Gifts and Ministries 
  18. The Gift of Prophecy 
  19. The Law of God 
  20. The Sabbath 
  21. Stewardship 
  22. Christian Behaviour 
  23. Marriage and the Family 
  24. Christ's Ministry in the Heavenly Sanctuary 
  25. The Second Coming of Christ 
  26. Death and Resurrection 
  27. The Millennium and the End of Sin 
  28. The New Earth